Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,


My flower garden and potted plants really took off! I have really gotten into reading and studying all of it. My sunflowers are about 2 inches tall, My sweet basil almost died when it got caught in the rain one night. I didnt realize it was raining till morning. I was so afraid of root rot, because even though my pots had drain holes, them the compost i used really held the water. It was like heavy mud. So i poked a hole in the dirt, and stuck a tampon in it. It actually sucked up a lot of moisture. Then, I brought them inside and placed them by a sunny window. Fifty percent of my basil was lost from my accidentally leaving my flower pots in the rain. One sunflower out of fourteen died of root rot, and seventeen out of thirty marigold sprouts. The rest of my potted plants are ok though, Rosemary, Ageratums, Snapdragons, Chamomile, Thyme… there’s more but i can’t remember at the moment.

I think this is something I would like to do to make money. Maybe set up a small greenhouse on the side of our yard and put up a sign. Flowers for sale. I sure wouldnt need to charge much to make a profit. I have almost nothing in supplies. People keep giving me pots at garage sales. Oh! Speaking of garage sales, I picked up a food grinder that you make applesauce and spagetti sauce with. They also had a waterbath canner with the rack for ten bucks. They are out of their minds! I find those things every other sale for a few bucks. I passed on that one, although i do want one to go with my pressure canner that i still cant figure out how to use. Ill come across one soon enough. I am having great success of getting the tools im going to need to live self sufficiently. 🙂

Image